Distracted driving is one of the leading causes of automobile accidents. While many things can distract drivers, the biggest culprit is the cell phone. You might think it’s not a big deal, you only looked down at your phone for five seconds to send a quick text. But it is a big deal. At 55 mph, taking your eyes off the road for five seconds is the equivalence of driving the length of a football field with your eyes closed.
What Does the Michigan Hands-Free Driving Law Mean?
As of June 30, 2023, it is illegal to hold a phone while driving a moving vehicle on the highways in Michigan. You can use GPS or make phone calls as long as the device is mounted and not in your hands, and it must be completed in a single touch. The law does not apply to anybody who is parked or stopped or using their phone to report an emergency.
How Much is a Ticket for Michigan’s Hands-Free Law?
A violation of the Michigan Hands-Free Law is punishable for first offenses with a fine of $100 or 16 hours of community service. A second offense will result in a fine of $250 or 24 hours of community service. Third or subsequent violations result in needing to complete a driving-improvement course.
If a traffic crash occurs and the at-fault driver was holding or manually using a mobile device while operating the vehicle, any civil fines will be doubled.
Dock Your Phone with a ProClip Phone Mount
If you need to use your phone for navigation, music streaming or hands-free calling, a quality phone mount in your car can keep you safe and avoid the ticket. A phone mount from ProClip can keep your phone docked safely and out of your hands. Always remember to drive safely and that the text can wait.