Minnesota Passes Hands-Free Driving Law
Distracted driving is one of the leading causes of automobile accidents. While many things can distract drivers, the biggest culprit is the cell phone. You might think it’s not a big deal, you only looked down at your phone for five seconds to send a quick text. But it is a big deal. At 55 mph, taking your eyes off the road for five seconds is the equivalence of driving the length of a football field with your eyes closed.
Minnesota has joined 16 other states and the District of Columbia with a law banning use of a cell phone while driving.
Minnesota Hands-Free Law
Minnesota Governor Tim Walz signed a hands-free bill into law on Friday, April 12, 2019. The new hands-free law goes into effect on August 1, 2019. Under the new law, drivers can send messages or phone calls only if their device is in hands-free mode or affixed to the vehicle, with an exception for emergency calls. This means adding an address into a navigation app or holding the phone on speakerphone are prohibited.
Tickets Will Cost You
Starting August 1, 2019, Minnesota police can stop anyone that they see holding a phone while operating a vehicle. This includes being stopped a red light, as you are technically still operating your vehicle. A first offense will carry a $50 fine and any violation after that carries a fine of $275.
Dock Your Phone with ProClip
If you need to use your phone for navigation, music streaming or hands-free calling, a proper mount in your car can keep you safe and avoid the ticket. A mount from ProClip can keep your phone docked safely and out of your hands. Always remember to drive safely and that the text can wait.