Illinois Distracted Driving Fines Increase July 1, 2019
Illinois passed a law prohibiting texting while driving in 2010, and a ban on cellphone use without a hands-free device in 2014. Beginning July 1, 2019, drivers in Illinois will face even harsher penalties for distracted driving. Warnings will no longer be given, and drivers will be issued a moving violation.
- First Offense: $75
- Second Offense: $100
- Third Offense: $125
- All Future Offenses: $150
Additionally, if a driver is issued three moving violations in one year, it will result in a suspended license according to Champaign County Sheriff Dustin Heuerman. The ban is not limited to just texting while driving, it includes any electronic device. The law does not apply to the following situations.
- A law enforcement officer or operator of an emergency vehicle performing official duties.
- A driver using an electronic device to report an emergency.x
- A driver using a phone in hands-free mode, which can include the use of a headset or headphones.
- A driver using an electronic device while parked on the shoulder of a roadway.
Go Hands-Free with ProClip
If you need to use your phone for navigation, music streaming or hands-free calling, a quality phone mount in your car can keep you safe and help you avoid the penalties. ProClip is a two-piece mount that includes a custom mount designed specifically for the make, model and year of your car plus a device holder that is designed specifically for your phone, tablet or GPS. Need help choosing the right vehicle mount for your car or truck? Give us a call at 1-800-296-3212, and we’ll be happy to find the perfect phone mount for you.